EXCLUSIVE: Hamilton Violinist Erin Benim Mayland – “The music NEVER stops”

If you’re like me, then you probably woke up early on July 3rd and immediately tuned in to watch Hamilton‘s debut on Disney Plus. Since its premiere in 2015, Hamilton: An American Musical (known to many as just Hamilton) has hit the world by storm, with single tickets on Broadway selling for upwards of $1000. The inclusion of Hamilton on Disney+ has allowed more people than ever to witness the groundbreaking musical, and fans are loving it!

But what does a Hamilton performer have to say about her experience? I sat down for a chat with professional violinist Erin Benim Mayland, who has been performing in the orchestra for Hamilton since 2015. Keep reading to check out the full interview!

CORBAN: How did you get involved as a musician for Hamilton on Broadway?

ERIN MAYLAND: I was incredibly fortunate to be called by Hamilton‘s wonderful contractors for the off-Broadway run at The Public Theatre. I knew the contractor from previous projects, including American Idiot at Berkeley Rep in California and he also hired me for The Bridges of Madison County on Broadway. I was lucky to be in the running for this position at Hamilton, and I have my fellow Hamilton violinist to thank for angling for me, because at the time I didn’t know Alex Lacamoire, Lin’s orchestrator and the Music Director, who of course had to approve all of the hires.

CORBAN: It’s awesome how things worked out for you to be involved in Hamilton, and it’s astonishing how many people collaborated to make the great music of Hamilton! How long have you been a violinist, and do you play any other instruments?

ERIN MAYLAND: I’ve been playing violin for 35 years, starting with the Suzuki method, and I also play viola. In fact, I was Viola 1/Violin 4 on The Bridges of Madison County, and I’ve subbed on other Broadway books on viola as well.

CORBAN: Wow, you have some great experience under your belt! I noticed that you have also worked on other Broadway projects like Something Rotten! and Chaplin. How did your experience with Hamilton differ from working on those shows?

ERIN BENIM MAYLAND: I have found that every show is different, not only in the type of music, but in the “vibe” of the show. At Something Rotten! I was constantly laughing, both because the show was hilarious (seriously, SO funny – if you ever get a chance to see it, do it!) and because the Music Director was always cracking up. Chaplin was a unique experience because I had an onstage cameo, complete with full makeup, costume, and choreography while playing a cadenza! I had never done anything remotely like that, so it was an enormous challenge for me. I was nervous every single night!

Mayland in Chaplin.

Hamilton is such a dense show, both musically and textually, so the process of putting the show together was much more intense. The music NEVER stops during the show for dialogue, so we rehearsed hard! Alex Lacamoire is a wonderful person to play under; he has such a great ear, and he is also a perfectionist. He demands the best from all of us, in the nicest way possible! He deserves huge amounts of accolades for his writing and also for his musical direction. Hamilton is notorious for always striving to improve itself; everyone in the production, including the band, gets notes from our bosses on the regular. 

CORBAN: I have been listening to the Hamilton soundtrack on continual repeat for the past few months, and the musicians’ hard work definitely paid off! The orchestration perfectly accents the lyrics and the story of Hamilton; it’s an amazing experience to listen to the “Hamilton Instrumentals” soundtrack and to truly focus on the show’s great orchestra. What is your favorite song from Hamilton, and which Hamilton song is the hardest for a violinist to play?

ERIN BENIM MAYLAND: It’s so hard to pick a favorite! I think it would have to be “Dear Theodosia”, simply because I have a daughter, and it always makes me think of her; when she was born, the show gifted her a music box with just the instrumentals of this song, and it is so sweet to hear it that way! It was the first music she ever heard. Technically, Hamilton is not really difficult for violin. But finding the groove of the music – it’s so “in the pocket” – can be hard for violinists, especially those who are exclusively classically trained. It’s a very different feel than most musicals, and certainly different than classical music. I suppose it’s more the style of Hamilton that is hard for a violinist – if someone isn’t in the “groove” with the rhythm section, it can pretty much ruin things.

CORBAN: “Dear Theodosia” has always been one of my favorites too, and I love how you get to share that piece of Hamilton with your daughter! I think that, while the song primarily focuses on the love between a parent and a child, “Dear Theodosia” is a song that people of all backgrounds can connect with and find the emotion. And, in general, Hamilton has set itself apart by being a show that resonates with all audiences. It’s safe to say that Hamilton has become a cultural phenomenon, and many notable guests have attended the show, from Beyoncé to President Barack Obama. Do you have any memorable moments with special Hamilton guests?

ERIN BENIM MAYLAND: Yes! I have so many memories of special guests. Being remotely near the Obamas was unforgettable for me (unfortunately I wasn’t there when Mrs. Obama visited, although we saw them all again when we performed at the White House). I remember running into Malala backstage, and I fangirled pretty hard! I was also excited to speak to Yo-Yo Ma and Sir Paul McCartney. I also remember the shock of turning around and seeing James Comey fairly soon after he testified; I didn’t know he was at the performance and suddenly he was walking right next to me backstage! I was used to seeing famous people around the theater, so I think the shock was mostly because he is SO TALL. I didn’t realize that when I watched him on TV. Ha.

CORBAN: Those sound like some awesome experiences! I understand that the current pandemic has affected a large percentage of the music industry, but do you have any future projects in the works?

ERIN BENIM MAYLAND: I have a few personal projects that I’m working on during quarantine, both musical and non musical. My husband, trombonist Nate Mayland, and I have a home recording studio so we can collaborate with other musicians and do session work, and we both teach lessons on Zoom. Mostly I am just trying to stay sane during this incredibly long time of unemployment (the entire arts industry vanished overnight last March) and trying to become my toddler’s educator and playmate. There are a lot of crayons and stuffed animals in my life right now 🙂

CORBAN: Yes, I totally understand that this has been a season of craziness for so many people, but thank you so much for taking the time to chat with me! It’s been an absolute honor getting to hear your “inside scoop” behind the music of Hamilton!

And to the reader, thanks for checking out this interview with Erin Benim Mayland! Be sure to check back in to Walk Dis Way for even more exclusive interviews, film and TV reviews, and other Disney content! As always, thanks for reading.

Want to stay updated on the MAGIC? Follow @walkdiswayblog on Instagram!!!

Leave a comment